READ YESTERDAY’S BLOG… right?

I enjoyed writing the reminiscences blog yesterday (or maybe it was the day before). I did hear from a few people. What does amaze me however is that some write to me (through emails) and say something like “I am interested.”

About what? I am involved in all kinds of projects at the moment, and have been for over 40-50 years. So always enlighten me, DO NOT assume I understand your email. I probably don’t. Do other people tell you they don’t know what you are talking about? Ask your wife if you are lucky enough to have a good one.

Why do so many who write be so brief that even God would have a hard time figuring out what they are saying. No joke, I sometimes get emails with one sentence, maybe 3-4 words! Why did you even bother at all? If I don’t know what is in your head what makes ME think that anyone else knows what is in your head?

Everyday I get a message from a guy in England named Drayton Bird. Often it is a video (which is event better but is not in B&W (black and white). Tremendous info. An older guy (older than myself!) and he is knowledgeable as well as entertaining. I always read him.

PETE ROSE

For his baseball career I have been a Pete Rose fan (baseball), especially when he played for the Cincinnati Reds. A master of facts and statistics. Phenomenal memory. And a great story-teller. Today he told a story about when he was single and couldn’t make it to the airport to pick up his girlfriend. So he had a friend pick her up. Naturally the friend said, “What does she look like?”

ROSE’S INCOMPLETE AND FLAWED ANSWER

“She’ll be the best looking woman on the plane!” So his friend walks up to Farrah Fawcett as she was the fifth person coming off the plane! Apparently Pete and Ryan O’Neal (her husband) had some good laughs about that.

In other words, make your message meaningful if you want to be in the book (souvenir, whatever). Read the previous blog post and if you are referring to that when you contact me (even if you are famous as one person was yesterday) it gives me a better handle on what the subject is about! Don’t be a Pete Rose.

P.S. All the games for the Simon Williams’ book have been annotated. So the next few days will be about cleanup, formatting, and submission to the printer AFTER I see what Simon thinks about it.

Have a great day. That would be Monday, June 5, 2017.

Contact me at: info@chessbutler.com

Leave a Reply

