Isolated Pawn? Panic Time

It got crazy this evening. My webmaster (on a certain project) left town and needless to say, I had a catalog to post to anyone who would click on the link. Didn’t happen. In business this is known as a disappointment because I live (try to) of Blog Sales, email sales, and catalogs. I’ve done the catalog thing for years.

In fact a lady called me today about buying (from her) a $499 package so that I could be represented by all kinds of websites. I make one change and they all change. She was working from Manhattan, and I am not talking Manhattan, KS and yes, nice little town, I’ve been there, bought a huge book and chess set collection from there. Eons ago.

I had some things to copy down but I mistakenly believed that everything I was doing that night would be there when I returned, but, nooooooooo. So I will contact her by email and see if we can straighten it out that way, and I am betting we can. But, tomorrow I also tutor her daughter from a distance. And tonight I learn how to operate and wear a CPAP machine. Is life complicated enough? Nope, not by a long shot. I am on a special diet to build up my immune system. Keeping track of that is fun.

And, I just finished this really cool chess books catalog. I spent almost a week on it and my goal was to mail it out to 600 people on my email list. Because I didn’t have the specs down perfect I mailed it to the 39 subscribers on my FREE “Chess Gazette” list. Yeah, you would think I had more… me too. Can’t take anything for granted in this business.

So I emailed them out by hand. Time consuming. 39 people should have it by now. Maybe I can get the rest out tomorrow.

The Important Point????

Not only is the PDF that would go to you be free, but the discounts are 35% It is from a top quality chess publishing house. Best of the best. To some that would mean, expensive. But take it from the kid here, the price of the average books is less than $20. Outrageous!

Send for it if you don’t already get the Chess Gazette. I’ll tack your name on the list.

Do You Ever Wonder?

If Thinkers’ Press will do anymore chess books? We are working on one right now in the other room. And another project too about Purdy. Come to think of it, we got some photocopies in today from Bob Woodworth in Nebraska. He found the stuff Jeremy Silman wrote about Cecil Purdy. So there is that. Yet, I do book sales to keep the moolah coming in. I don’t even know what chess dealers I would sell to, do you? So that’s why the BIG catalog. I had so much inventory that a bookshelf collapsed last week and I have all those books in this catalog. Enough to make a grown man cuss. Like new but, I am running out of space.

Quiz: Do You Buy Chess Books Anymore?

You know what’s funny (sorta). Books won’t help some, neither will DVDs. Tutors are hard to remember as soon as we step out of the room. That just leaves playing and why would we do that? I have thought of a solution: sex education AND chess. All of a sudden things could get interesting. We would have to convince the ladies, that might be difficult. So let’s do what Gambit Books did years ago, ask the audience (you) for suggestions. Are you guys UP to it (of course, no pun intended). I don’t if I am the only blogger who doesn’t get much audience participation but I do know people read these bits and pieces. If I say others are lazy, what about me? I seldom offer feedback because I feel like it is a waste of my time.

It’s not a waste of Jack’s time. Even though he’s only 2.5 he can raise cane with the best of them!

Bob & Jack

info@chessbutler.com

One thought on “Isolated Pawn? Panic Time

  1. Bob, have not rec’d the # 3 catalog yet. Gary

    On Wed, Dec 14, 2016 at 10:04 PM, bobthechesser wrote:

    > freddyandthebutler posted: “It got crazy this evening. My webmaster (on a > certain project) left town and needless to say, I had a catalog to post to > anyone who would click on the link. Didn’t happen. In business this is > known as a disappointment because I live (try to) of Blog Sales” >

Leave a Reply

