THANKS…!

Yesterday was interesting.

A bunch of folks signed up for a limited edition series of 5 CHESS SECRETS MONTHLY publications. In most cases they were already on a list for that. I asked someone “Why do you sign up for a limited publication when you are already a PAID subscriber?”

His answer was simple, “I just want to make sure that I don’t miss anything!” I understand this, it has happened to me. No one is a numb skull here, we just like being in a loop of different projections, volatile changes, INFORMATION and ‘what’s the latest?’

It’s a mathematician’s business-logistics nightmare!

For example, I tune into my morning emails to see what else is on the revised “to do” list. I’m also watching the news on my computer and what is it showing? Shanghai Disney! The first thing I ask myself is: If Disney can get so many people to show up in Shanghai to tour the new Disney (probably for free because the guests are politicians and other “especially” invited people (read: NEWS MEDIA) why can’t I get more subscribers to CHESS SECRETS at $25 for 12 “newsy” and different issues?) I fantasize about 100 subscribers at $25 per head. $2500!

One answer is quite simple some want FREE only. They are cheap (even if a one time trip for one day to Disney World will cost them $100+  and that doesn’t include food, possible lodging, and so on. SIX FLAGS is $65 per person in the Midwest.

ENTITLEMENT!

It is more than that (look, I am just being honest here and anyone with a brain can figure this out). It is a thing we hear all the time about, ENTITLEMENT! That is, “I spent a lot of cash with the Chess Butler last year, I am entitled to some bennies.” Makes sense to me. I do get it. But that means I have to constantly massage my customers’ database. At this moment that means 102 databases of contact lists!! To be updated by lil’ o me. I can’t do that all at once, I need assistance, a human body! A helper–guess what? They cost money for training and managing. And there is probably  some “out of work ‘schlub'” who could probably do it (Could they do it well? is a completely different question.)

What I have to so is raise the $$$ first which means  to sell something.” In this case, a subscription to CHESS SECRETS. I’ve been looking through TRAIN YOUR CHESS PATTERN RECOGNITION for some ideas concerning “secrets.” First page I open, Ivanchuk vs. Jobava, 2010. The topic for this game and the next chapter is: “What is a Queen worth?” We know the standard answers, but what if the question is a little different such as Q for Rook, piece and pawn? The piece being Knight or Bishop. It turns out this can make a difference and you want to look at the game to find out why.

Where was I when thinking about this? In the room with the ivory colored throne! Make use of valuable opportunities. Don’t just sit there and ponder about the “big” game coming up this Sunday, there is NOTHING you can do to influence it!

THIS IS ONE REASON WHY YOU SHOULD GET CHESS SECRETS FOR $25 A YEAR!

Or at the very least get the mini, 5 issues subscription for FREE. Since it is emailed to you in digital form, there is no postage, just print it out. Color is best. One guy told me he didn’t want to pay for color cartridges! PASS, we don’t need him and his wretched economics. Impossible to satisfy, or worse.

Contact: Bob or Jack at info@chessbutler.com

or write (if you are in the mood) to 1524 LeClaire St., Davenport, Iowa 52803.

Either way is a GOOD or GREAT DEAL.

It comes to 7 cents a day.

2 thoughts on “THANKS…!

  1. Bob, charge me for $ 25 for 12 issues. Thanks Gary

    On Thu, Jun 16, 2016 at 12:41 PM, bobthechesser wrote:

    > freddyandthebutler posted: “Yesterday was interesting. A bunch of folks > signed up for a limited edition series of 5 CHESS SECRETS MONTHLY > publications. In most cases they were already on a list for that. I asked > someone “Why do you sign up for a limited publication when you are alr” >

    • Thanks Gary, that is two I have picked up today. The coming issue is going to be several pages bigger than the 12 that were planned. And I still haven’t completely finished it. Next comes proofing to cut down on my finger-fehlers and brain farts.

Leave a Reply

