WHO WAS IGNAZ?

My Mom was known to use that name Ignaz when she wasn’t exactly complimenting someone! Sort of “idiot” or “idiotic.” Mom and Dad were really great at Crossword Puzzles. Neither had a college education but Mom’s vocabulary was second to none and she was murder at Scrabble. Dad, on the other hand was a mighty reader and I couldn’t begin to wonder how many books he had read. Plus he got his Army Air Corps degree in being a fighter pilot. If I had ever thought of it, either one would have lapped up the non-technical side of chess books. A book like Ignaz Kolisch would have been great for either one. Though my Mom taught me chess and my Dad already knew how to play, at price of $67.50 for such a high-class book from McFarland & Company would it probably not have been on their Christmas list.

I only ordered one and it has already been sold so clearly, I guessed wrong! (I will get more!) The book is in a blue cloth binding, is letter-sized, heavy, and several hundred pages (380). Lots of art and photos too including one of Morphy. The rest were masters of the 19th century. Mr. Kolisch was a very strong player and he could eat you for breakfast!

I don’t know whether it is my lack of interpretive skill or I just don’t want to say, “Tell me it isn’t so, but he later came into the financial world, stock markets, etc. and I got the feeling he might have been right at home with Goldman Sachs, or of the others “playing loosely with other people’s money!”

The retail is $75 and it was just published. It’s a little over 2 pounds with the mailing bag and cardboard insert.

Lots of stuff in there on the great masters. Reading material for a week! Wonderfully¬†made. Will only get more expensive. Almost 400 pages! Written by Fabrizio Zavatarelli. I put the “stamp” of great scholarship on this beauty. Please add $4.50 for shipping and insurance. $72.00.

Phone me today! 563-271-6657.

You’re incredible.

 

Bob & Jack

Leave a Reply

