MORPHY & FRIENDS

In the “old timey days” they were doing, in some ways, more interesting things than today, and without the electronics!

For example there were a number of chess clubs which became famous. There were entrepreneurs who ran them with enthusiasm before the vagaries of lackadaisicalness takes over and they failed. Been there, done that, so these particular stories will be like a bone for me to chew on.

My left hand is not yet in typing mode (to speak of) though my physical therapist said I am making great progress. I can poke around, like I am doing now, and it takes a long time. And, it is very tiring, especially, correcting mistakes. But I will play around with issue #5 off and on to keep myself from falling asleep at odd hours.

YOU CAN STILL SEND THE CHESS BUTLER ORDERS

I am still filling them. A little slower than usual. Sometimes Rita or Nate helps me. Some new titles The Chess Butler will be receiving are:

NEW IN CHESS YEARBOOK #115

KARPOV MOVE BY MOVE

PETROFF MOVE BY MOVE and later on

SMERDON’S SCANDINAVIAN late Sept. or early Oct. emphasis on Kalashnikov…

SICILIAN DRAGON 1-2 from GM Gawain Jones and Quality Chess (Oct., was released today in Great Britain)

Still have a complete set of the Judit Polgar books which will teach you more about chess than you thought you needed to know. She and Mihai Marin should get “books of the year” accolades.

Items from the JUL-AUG News Letter we also produce are still mostly in stock. Several were reordered. Taming the Wild Chess Openings has done quite well once it was rebooted. The best selling books here have been: Python Strategy, Chess Structures and I predict Moskalenko’s EVEN MORE FLEXIBLE FRENCH after I review it because it is way better than the first edition.

I forgot to mention that Morphy’s Times & Games has a 12 issue subscription price of $99 and I send the first 4 PDF issues right away (my right hand is still free to do so). As usual, you can pay via PayPal (to: info@chessbutler.com) or credit card (call 563-271-6659. If I don’t answer, please call back). Of course we take checks and money orders. send to: 1524 LeClaire St., Davenport, Iowa 52803, addressed to THE CHESS BUTLER. No shipping charges on this magazine, just great reading!

That’s the update for now. YOU KEEP US GOING!

TANKS

Bob

Leave a Reply

