DID YOU NOTICE THIS ABOUT THE SINQUEFIELD CUP?

There have been no Cyrillic speakers at the Sinquefield Cup except for two: Lev Aronian (in all 3, Armenian) and Alexander Grischuk (Russian) for this year. Lev won yesterday against Anand and Grischuk lately can’t seem to catch a break–he lost to Giri. What has happened to the much vaunted “Soviet” chess machine?

I see the event of 10 players is being held in a different room. And I confess I miss being there. If you get a chance go to St. Louis and catch some games as well as the Hall of Fame. Even if you can only catch one round it is worth it.

One other thing. Topolov (Bulgarian, a different type of Cyrillic) knocked off Carlsen yesterday! Yet no one mentions Topolov at all when they talk about potential winners and yet Toppy is the second highest rated player in the world at THIS moment!

Lastly, Ed Tucker told me he couldn’t register to follow this blog on his phone. I suggest, if that is the way it is, register on your desktop machine. I do this Blog for free and it does consume my time. If I get more registered followers, maybe I can pick up some sponsors.

TANKS… Bob

2 thoughts on “DID YOU NOTICE THIS ABOUT THE SINQUEFIELD CUP?

  1. Actually, it was Nakamura who beat Anand in round one, and Aronian won against Caruana. But these minor inaccuracies don’t take away from the points that you made. I agree, Topalov seems like a man in the shadows!?

Leave a Reply

