THE INTELLIGENT TINKERER

Yesterday’s edition gave details of my visit with Kelly and Jessica at the terrific La Quinta Inn and Convention Center (I was impressed).

Today I will admit to a furtherance, an email from Simon Williams. I asked a bunch of questions, which he answered.

Recalling Sherlock Holmes and the Red-Headed League (and because Simon is a redhead) I asked him (and you) if you (or he) knew of famous redheaded chess players of note. Of course there was Vassily Smyslov. Maybe (?) Neil McDonald?

I enjoyed Simon’s downplaying his “celebrity status” which told me we indeed did have the right guy. He’s going to be fun because he’s an “intelligent tinkerer.”

FOR EXAMPLE

In the discussion of his simul, I suggested the name “Simon’s Simul.” He liked that while also offering this: “Simon Sez let’s play the King’s Gambit.” Even better don’t you think? I asked Carol if she thought that was even better and she said “Yes.”

And Simon said he doesn’t care what the opposition plays, the Accepted or the Declined.

So be it.

The King’s Gambit is over 300 years old. Played out, simple, useless, shouldn’t be considered by any right thinking individual–right? Isn’t that what the books are saying? I think that is nothing but a scare tactic, which in reality, doesn’t seem to work. Your opponent is HOPING you won’t play 2.f4 (after 1.e4 e5) because he doesn’t know what to play after 2.f4. LOL.

Anyway, Simon says he is ready. You’ve got months and months to prepare for this! This will be more preparation time than you have done and had at your elbow than for 95% of whatever else you play! Take it from Bob!

Last night I stayed up past my bed time and went through some King’s Gambits! Wow! Hilarious tactics. It was part of chess’ “Romantic” period.

That’s a Start

I thought of writing something at this Blog Spot everyday until the big event Oct. 23-24 but then I quickly realized, too much stress, and I am already under plenty right now trying to get people to commit. Let me give you an idea of how tough this can be, and it is about someone else.

A guy I know of is running an event in Las Vegas in May. It costs $5,000 to attend and it is for two days. It is designed to hold TEN (10) people only plus a number of invited experts in the field of marketing. These guests have to take in $100,000 minimum per year in their business. The $5,000 buys them a Hot Seat where they get grilled by the experts. The whole purpose is designed to help fellow marketers increase their business, probably by at least 2 fold. Usually it goes way beyond that, way beyond. Even the “smart guys” pay the $5K to make even more than they currently do because what is $5K compared to a minimum of a $200,000 improvement in a year (or way more)? You are paying for EXPERTISE!! In spades.

Ten seats, right? Five are already filled (this is his 4th or fifth event and most likely, the last one). He expects the last 5 to be sold by the end of this week. I don’t think it will happen! Why? Because he had two seats unsold last year! ($10,000 a seat then!) It’s not really the AMOUNT it’s almost ALWAYS the commitment. Everyone who attended said they got their money’s worth with a couple saying saying they paid for their trip and the seat in ONE WEEK. Even those who have a lot of money they will never miss often have trouble committing because with BEN there is NO refunds, he’s THAT sure of himself.

GM Simon Williams is an EXPERT in several things besides the King’s Gambit and we will corral him this October and months in advances for tips, musings, and life changes in chess. Not only does he know a little about the King’s Gambit but he does play 1.d4, he plays the French, he plays the Dutch Defense, and he is an attacking and tactical doberman! Like all grandmasters he has sound advice.

Secondly, I will be cluing you in on Andrew Martin and Macon Shibut soon. This is a learning and a FUN event. This is a battery recharger! From time to time, all of us need that.

REMEMBER: You RISK nothing. If you pay now ($200) for your Morphy Ticket, and something crucial comes up , just give us 30 days notice, and I will refund your registration. What constitutes “crucial?” Whatever YOU think is crucial! Can’t get more guaranteed than that.

IMAGINE: If I have 75 tickets printed up, in advance (say, next month), then that is OFF my menu and I can concentrate on other excellent things to bring to the event and forget about trying to round up attendees at the last minute. In 2010 I was hoping (strongly) for 50 to show up at the Last Chess Clinic and I couldn’t get past the number 36. I put together several brochures toward the end (11 all together) and the last 2-3 were nothing but a total waste of my time. Looking for a NEW friend, call me, and order your ticket.

THE INCENTIVE?: A great event at a great place with great people, both celebrities and guests… and you avoiding a SOLD OUT sign.

Call me at Bob Long, 563-271-6657. I’ll fix you up pronto. Your Credit Card / PayPal / Money Order or Check! If you need to make it a tad easier on yourself, split it up into 2 payments!

UNTIL NEXT TIME.

P.S.: Yesterday I met with Bill Hannan for lunch, my illustrious t-shirt designer (we’ll probably do ball caps too). I presented him with a sheet of Morphy Photos, engravings, etc. Here’s why I like Bill so much. He picked the SAME artwork I was thinking of. So, no rancor, no posturing, no dicking around. Out of 24 or so pictures and we are on the same page. Now Bill can put the Hannan touch to it. He told me yesterday about the Bobby Fischer t-shirt he designed for us in 2002. Quote: “I’ve done hundreds if not thousands of t-shirts over 50 years. The Bobby Fischer one I liked the best! Of all of them I liked that one the best.”

I still have some brand new ones left at $25 a pop plus postage. If yours is worn out, get another one. Sizes: L, XL, XXL, and maybe a XXXL. I suspect soon they will be gone.

Phone: 563-271-6657. If you are out of this country drop me a line at: info@chessbutler.com

Leave a Reply

