NOV 12, 2014 — TV DINNERS

Have you ever eaten a TV dinner for supper? Sure, I imagine everyone has. But you might be doing that while watching TV.

I don’t have a TV and I am always eating those unimaginable TV dinners in front of the screen, all the time. They are getting smaller, less tasty and apparently the secret to manufacturing them is to have some kind of meat, not much, but meat, and toss in a bunch of vegetables. Apparently there are no NEW vegetables… just the same “Usual Suspects.”

Well, I am doing it again and it occurred to me that I forgot to post another round of books that are half off. So, that is what I am here for. Yesterday was an insane day as several people were asking about 1927 NY and asked “Where did that come from?”

Didn’t I mean “NY 1924?” No, I didn’t. Apparently a big gap in historical chess education. And yes Alekhine did write it. The event  (NY 1927) ended with Alekhine being in second place, behind Alekhine. Then Alekhine met Capa in Buenos Aires afterword and he took Capablanca down with at one point and Capablanca wanted to abandon the match to Alekhine, in the “middle” of it, and start another one! Alex said No when he should have said YES. Take the money and the title, start a new one with the same conditions but I suspect Capablanca would have balked at that and so would have Capablanca’s backers. You see Capa made it difficult for Nimzovich to play him for the title. So he was snubbed. 6 years and Capablanca did not defend his title until, somehow, someway, Alekhine did some kind of master salesmanship thingie and was able to round up the money and play Capablanca. As Dr. Phil would say, if Alekhine was asked, “How did that work out for ya?” he could say, in all honesty, “Really well guys. I won.” Capablanca really did BELIEVE he was invincible… but, he wasn’t. In fact, in the 1927 event, Round 5, Alekhine lost to Capablanca and drew all the rest of the games. Is it inconceivable that Alekhine lost one game in order to set Capablanca up in the first game of the match for an “Oh woe is me” outlook and that it would indeed be a cakewalk for Capablanca and an easy way to win $20,000 (or thereabouts)? Most of us know what happened Capablanca lost the firs game, against Alekhine’s French Defense! I have two copies left of this book which retailed for $19.95. Can’t let them go for half off again, you had your chance. But I will sell you a copy for $15.00 + $5 for S&H.

Very interesting draw today between Carlsen and Anand. Carlsen didn’t think much of his own play. Anand seemed OK about his play. Several times they both went in for long thinks, especially Carlsen. I loved Carlsen’s h4 but I did figure that Carlsen’s aim was g5, and in the press interview that’s was Anand said also. Cute, but, you never know. People who asked questions from the audience had some weird ones and the players themselves looked to me like they were thinking, “What a waste of time.” Carlsen is very adept at not answering any questions he doesn’t really want to answer which might give something away. I’ve discovered that works best in these situations is to ask a thoughtful question–that’s why I usually wait until the end–they appreciate thoughtful questions not just questions so you can say you “talked to” so and so.

I had been following, for a short time, the online comments, from the online peanut gallery. Most clowns with their brains disengaged. It was the usually bunch of “I have no job” characters who kept calling the game a “draw” simply because they were using an engine, oblivious to the fact that neither Anand or Carlsen were. I couldn’t stand it anymore and found I could turn it off and listen to Svidler and the lady WGM instead. Twice the feed dropped and when it came back what was on the screen and what was actual in reality bore no resemblance to the game. This problem always seems to rear its head. It was refreshing to hear Svidler just say, in answer to a question, “I don’t know, what do you think?”

OK, book: Dvoretsky’s Analytical Manual, first edition. Retail is $34.95. There is a second edition out I’ve been told so it is time to sell this one. Will that be hard? Don’t know, have done it before. Usually the update is just to fix up the first edition. I’ll let it be up to you. One thing that will be hard to ignore is the price, which in this case is $17.49 + $5.50 FOR S&H. 419 PAGES.  JUST ONE, and you can order tonight and all day tomorrow since I put this up so late. OK?

NEXT BOOK:

Probably at one time or another almost everyone has owned a book on Mikhail Tal. At one time the author of one set of books on Tal stayed overnight at my house, unannounced. Graham Hillyard from England (?) had done 4 volumes on Tal’s games. I think the books were published in the US by ARCO. But this particular book, The Magic Tactics of Mikhail Tal, Learn from the Legend was written by GM Karsten Müller & Raymund Stolze. 332 pages. Big book. The $28.95 book is yours for just $14.48. Add $5.00 for S&H.

LAST BOOK;

art of attack in chess by Vladimir Vukovic. One of the great books on attack. 22 printings! I hope Vuk got himself a nice house or at least a nice Rolls-Royce. Chernev had a lot of editions (like this) of his Logical Chess Move by Move book. And I hadn’t known this, but GM John Nunn had edited this book, just like he did Fischer’s “My 60 Memorable Games” but without the author’s freaking out! Before there were other books on chess tactics there was “Art of Attack in Chess,” corrected. Originally about $5.95 until it grew up, had algebraic notation added, and it was eventually released at $26.95. Today and tomorrow only you can get it for half of $26.95, or $13.48 + $5 for S&H.

Thanks, now back to work on my most important brochure (along with the Morphy Club) in years.

Bob

the chess guy 24/7

info@chessbutler.com

Leave a Reply

