THE EMOTION OF GIDDINESS

Even editors, collectors, and scientists have moments of giddiness–moments of unusual joy. A time when at the end of a journey, the sense of “completeness,” is overwhelming. In fact it is likely to be followed by a tendency to tell “someone,” maybe just a “Hello” to someone we meet on the street or when we are out for a walk.

New love is perfect for giddiness, is it not?

The acquisition of something can be a cause for an intense celebration.

Getting an A in a tough class can make us crazy with joy even if we had already maybe, sorta, anticipated it.
What about being awakened in the middle of the night and finding out the call is from Sweden and you have figured out, sleepily maybe, you have won a Nobel?

Become a grandmaster?

Wow!

There are all kinds of instances where a “Yahoo” moment says it all.

Here it is the first day of my work week and I am having myself in such a stitch. I have, it seems, a dozen things to do to light on, and a couple of them are outstanding.

It is at moments like these that we can even put up with the idiocy of the human race. For example, I got an email requesting something with virtually no details. It’s clearly one of those emails where the emailer hasn’t really thought anything through, hasn’t easily clarified what he wants, given a price, or WHEN he first saw a particular offer. In other words, his strange request is in his own mind.

But, my mind is thinking about something else, so I don’t have the time, until later, to think negative things about this guy who wants something but expects me to do all the work in getting that “something” to him–for whenever he wants it! As I saw on a sign the other day, the word “MORAN!” was written. (To be truthful, in that instance, the signmaker was trying to be funny.)

What is the World Shaker?

Two things.

• I have preliminary pictures of the boxes to hold the Grand Turk of Amritsar chess set. The price is healthy but everything is based on my costs including the charges of the craftsmen both here and abroad. And the Morphy Coin which will/can accompany the box. I now have a price I am satisfied with and will be detailing “everything” in a brochure I can send out, FREE (Good grief some people love that word!) Of course, as is the custom these days, there is a BONUS for making the purchase AND the bonus is truly limited. (Why? Because I am charged every year for “storage of files.” There comes a point where I am tired of giving hundreds of dollars every year to the printer for something which costs them a dollar to store.) The BONUS in this case is the Morphy Coin. I am only having  a limited number made.

• I am on the verge of finishing the 6th issue of “1 BOND St.” And, it is a killer! In 1954 C.J.S. Purdy, in the July 1954 issue of his Chess World, wrote a lengthy article about the Jubilee, or first 25 years of his publications: A.C.R. Australasian Chess Review, Check, and Chess World. Of course it has taken me forever to transcribe it and to also scan the photos. For example, at least one whole weekend. It brought back some great memories and in some cases, told me things I never remembered reading in the first place. In other cases, he is ADDING between the lines, as an editor, stuff that never actually was put into those three publications in the first place, such as “personal” items and opinions.

Pure Gold! A piece I have been concentrating on this morning is Paul Morphy where Purdy starts out with the notion that there was nothing extraordinary about Morphy in the “New World” about his play except for beating up a couple guys he could have given Rook odds to in the opera booth. Here I was annoyed and about to add a footnote but said to myself, “Give Purdy a chance, read the rest of the article.” Purdy made up for his previous comments when he began effusing about Morphy’s trip to Europe where he crushed everybody who would play him. Flatten them like the proverbial chess pancake! But Purdy said the number one anecdote that stuck with him was when Morphy was in Paris. It is truly memorable and worth going to this link: http://www.cleoejacksoniii.com/my-ongoing-thoughts/it-aint-over-yet

Morphy had been asked his opinion of the “masterpiece.” Purdy wrote that Morphy replied in a grave manner: “If the young man plays Bishop to Bishop six, he still has a chance.” I hadn’t known these details though somewhere in the deep recesses of my mind, I remember the painting. Then I find in 1999 it was sold to someone. A treasure! WHO was the buyer? There was no internet in Purdy’s time.

Hence I am in a hurry to get it to the 14-15 subscribers I have (pathetic). Maybe they will be as enthralled as I was. Individual PDFs will go for $24.95 and you can place an order now if you wish.

Purdy collected all kinds of princely pieces from his articles and even added to them. In one case Purdy said that Lasker had said something interesting  in the year 1938! “He was giving his own explanation of the lack of great English players: “The ideal of the Englishman is not the chess master, not the creative master, but the gentleman.”
I could add in the inimitable words of Dr. Phil, “And how’s that working for you?”*

Sometimes the “journey” IS the Reward, and sometimes the end of that journey is its own incredible reward!

* Shortly thereafter Britain’s Neville Chamberlain, a “gentleman,” agreed to give the Sudetenland to Germany in the Munich Agreement which led toward WWII. Should have stuck to chess master Nev. You and your cronies were responsible for millions of people dying.

One thought on “THE EMOTION OF GIDDINESS

Leave a Reply

