I HATE PLAYING CHESS TOURNAMENTS

I suppose it would be helpful to add reasons since I haven’t played in a regular tournament in a couple years.

1. I hated the registration in the morning and driving distances.

2. I hated packing my bags.

3. I hated reading all that tiny print for the advertisements about where, when, and whether I should wear a tuxedo.

4. I never particularly liked unruly kids or show offs.

5. I hated maps (I don’t have GPS), figuring out which hotel/motel… distances, etc. You know, how much gas will I have to buy?

6. Should I bring a set and board (of course) and a clock that I probably don’t know how to work (digital).

7. I am always hoping for a competent TD, not someone who just took the test.

I finally conquered one of these by arriving a day early, like on a Friday. Then I could get a decent night’s sleep (maybe, TV shows on Fridays are uniformly terrible as are the weather people). But then when morning arrived I would have to do the shower and breakfast thing and check and make sure I am registered.

Rounds should start around noon after I have woken up, eaten, bathed, etc. I see what Fischer was after. Most tournaments I have been to, or run myself, are for the TD’s benefit. If one gets “liberal” then people don’t show.

bob long

3 thoughts on “

  1. People in Europe sometimes have a hard time understanding why we put up with two and three rounds per day Swiss system tournaments, which are a major reason I don’t play much (besides the panic disorder). When the last round of the day begins at 7:00 pm, you can count me out…

  2. Wow, hold on there Mr. L. Let’s sit down, take a deep breath and try to find some positive things about chess tournament. (1) getting to play your favorite openings, (2) demonstrating that all that time looking at those endgame positions was worth it, (3) grinding down someone whose rating is close to your own is very satisfying, (4) seeing all those people who you haven’t seen for months or years, (5) eating out between rounds with friends is always fun, (6) and, of course, watching one of your ex-students do well is a “natural” high. These are just a few things I came up with off the top of my head—I’m sure I could come up with more…

    • I was joking Steve… went over the top. Didn’t it work? Actually I did mean some of those things, but I went to a LOT of tournaments in my life, 40 years… and sold at many too. I was the perfect definition of “burn out.”

      I agree with your “positive things.”

      I was laughing all the time when I was writing it.

      Bob

Leave a Reply

